Bílý vrch
icon TrekBuddy
www.trekbuddy.net
Outdoor companion.
  • internal / bluetooth / simulator GPS
  • offline raster maps
  • smart GPX / raw NMEA logs
  • waypoints and simple navigation
  • custom views
  • MIDP and Symbian phones
  • Blackberry
  • Android
Visit wiki to see all features, guides and howtos. Project tracker.

Partners:    (Polish/Polski)(Polski) Compass mapy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) Galileos mapy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) CartoMedia      (Czech/Èesky)(Èesky) Eaglesoft trasy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) ExpressMap     

 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Zoom on Android phones

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TrekBuddy Forum Index -> English
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mojo-chan



Joined: 12 Feb 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 9:48 am    Post subject: Zoom on Android phones Reply with quote

How do you zoom on Android phones? There does not seem to be any way to do it.

I want to cache massive offline maps but need to be able to zoom in and out!

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fallout33



Joined: 19 Mar 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 1:06 pm    Post subject: Multitouch Reply with quote

Zooming (at least on my) Android is quite inconvenient:

Main Menu -> Load Map -> *Navigate from TB maps root dir to current map dir (remember which zoom level I have picked before in order to now chose the correct one) -> load the map

1.
The "change layer" field described in the wiki does not work for me, i.e. nothing happens when I touch it. (The other fields do work.)
Are there any special requirements for the layers field to work?


2.
Easyzoom also does not work, i.e. the volume buttons still change the ringing volume of the phone. (Settings -> Desktop -> Easyzoom -> layers)


3.
Are there any plans to improve the navigation on Android phones?
Especially are more convenient zooming would be great!


TrekBuddy 1.0.11 @ Android 2.2.1 @ Samsung Galaxy S I9000


Last edited by fallout33 on Thu Apr 21, 2011 10:23 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ranger



Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 6030

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try to use "Load atlas" instead ... Smile

Ad.1 Do you have few layers containing maps for the area?
Ad.2 Volume keys option can be used on SE phones.
Ad.3. Look at point 1 again Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fallout33



Joined: 19 Mar 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ranger wrote:
[...] Try to use "Load atlas" instead [...]

When I do/did this I was always getting only a black screen. Only the Android status bar (time, signal strength, etc.) is visible and in the application region of the screen you can only see "Select Layer". Touching the screen at any region does not do anything. I cannot access the main menu at this point by using the menu button on my phone. Using the "back" button on my phone results in the message "Incorrect file selected. Try again." The rest of the screen is still black. Now I can access the main menu again.

Ranger wrote:
[...] Ad.1 Do you have few layers containing maps for the area? [...]

Only one layer with several zoom levels. I thought layers were supposed to store different types of maps and within these maps you have zoom levels. I was used to this kind of meaning of layers when dealing with maps-related applications or web services all the time until now.

I have now created a small test atlas where I put each zoom level on a different layer and it does work now!

I would recommend to mention this differnt definition of layers somewhere in the wiki. I can imagine that I am not the only one who gets confused by this slightly different meaning and usage of the term layers.

Thank you very much for your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ranger



Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 6030

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems like wrong structure for easy zoom.
Typical TB atlas structure is described in topic
http://www.trekbuddy.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=21
& something to explain more
http://wiki.trekbuddy.net/index.php/Howtos#Atlas
http://www.trekbuddy.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=42005#42005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TrekBuddy Forum Index -> English All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group