Bílý vrch
icon TrekBuddy
www.trekbuddy.net
Outdoor companion.
  • internal / bluetooth / simulator GPS
  • offline raster maps
  • smart GPX / raw NMEA logs
  • waypoints and simple navigation
  • custom views
  • MIDP and Symbian phones
  • Blackberry
  • Android
Visit wiki to see all features, guides and howtos. Project tracker.

Partners:    (Polish/Polski)(Polski) Compass mapy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) Galileos mapy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) CartoMedia      (Czech/Èesky)(Èesky) Eaglesoft trasy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) ExpressMap     

 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW SAMSUNG GT-B2710 Xcover 271 and TrekBuddy
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TrekBuddy Forum Index -> Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
eltron



Joined: 28 Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Location: Würzburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello
i am new in this board.
Greetings to all from Germany!

I have today updated my B2710 to the new Samsung firmware via Kies.
Then i have installed the new TB1.1.1

The last version on my phone was 1.0.18 - this was running well.
The atlases on my memory are created with MOBAC 1.9.1

Now when i try to load a map (the atlas is not in 1.1.1?) i achieve the message
Quote:
[6]: java.lang.ArithmeticException:104


The settings in the misc menu i have changed to the values from above.

Regards Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
calicoaran



Joined: 23 Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eltron wrote:
Hello
i am new in this board.
Greetings to all from Germany!

I have today updated my B2710 to the new Samsung firmware via Kies.
Then i have installed the new TB1.1.1

The last version on my phone was 1.0.18 - this was running well.
The atlases on my memory are created with MOBAC 1.9.1

Now when i try to load a map (the atlas is not in 1.1.1?) i achieve the message
Quote:
[6]: java.lang.ArithmeticException:104


The settings in the misc menu i have changed to the values from above.


I got the same message on mine a few times. I don't know the technical reason for getting the message, but I what I did was download groups of smaller maps instead one large map. After that I stopped getting the error message.


Regards Very Happy

_________________
v1.1.1 on Samsung GT-B2710
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
calicoaran



Joined: 23 Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, theres a newer version of MOBAC out there. I would download that.
_________________
v1.1.1 on Samsung GT-B2710
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eltron



Joined: 28 Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Location: Würzburg, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
may be some infos to identify the problem

My installation steps:
1. update of Samsung firmware
2. i deleted the v1.018 via Samsung function.
3. installed the 1.1.1.

The directories on the mmc i haven´t changed.

Map creation, i have just tested:
Mobac 1.9.8

WSG Grid every 1 sec

MapSource:
OpenStreetMap Hikebikemap.de
Layer from 2-16

atlas typs:
Trekbuddy tared and untared atlas tested.
Loaded Map with and without GPS signal.
The error message comes after i choose a layer.

One thing is different to the old 1.0.18
In the old one, there was one point for atlases and one for maps.
In the 1.1.1 there is only point 2 maps....?

Question

Edit:
Samsung Firmware:
SW Ver B2710XXLC1
CSC VER B2710XCJJ4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eltron



Joined: 28 Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Location: Würzburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2012 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Today i tested 1.0.18 again.
It works...???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ranger



Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 6030

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In 1.1.1 atlas or map can be loaded the same way, depends on what you select first - atlas header file or map file.
1.018 uses less app memory, so problem in 1.1.1 can come from this point. Too big map ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eltron



Joined: 28 Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Location: Würzburg, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello
i have deleted some unused applications, moved some date to the memory card... and so on.
Just to achieve more free memory...

AND:
V1.1.1 works! Very Happy

Thanks for your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matjazz



Joined: 10 Aug 2011
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm. It never crossed my mind that free space on phone could be problem. Could you tell how much free space was before and after?

I have Samsung 2710 and v1.1.1 works flawlessly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
myllenyum



Joined: 29 Jun 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2012 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I have a Samsung B2710.
I installed with success Trekbuddy 1.1.1 and i make an atlas using MOBAC.
Until now everything work ok and I don`t have any problem.

But... if I make a larger atlas >2Gb (untared) phone`s software scans all images from SD card and phone moves very slowly.
In I make a bigger atlas > 3 or 4Gb (largest atlas had 30Gb) phone`s software scans all images from SD and at one point (i think) all internal memory is full and I cannot start any application, bat I can make phone calls.
If I turn off phone, this one no longer starts anymore, stuck on Samsung logo .

To get again a fully functional phone must rewrite firmware.

Anyone have a solution to use larger atlases (2+ -> 30Gb tared or untared ) without scanning SD card files ?

Another question... Someone managed to work sailing CMS Theme ? I need to use Anchor Alarm but I can`t set maximal distance.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
martinezcb



Joined: 02 Oct 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

myllenyum wrote:
Another question... Someone managed to work sailing CMS Theme ? I need to use Anchor Alarm but I can`t set maximal distance.


You have to set HECL optimization to "0" an then sailing theme will work correctly (You will be able to set the distance by pressing "2" button)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
akshaan



Joined: 20 Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Location: Lorient, France

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

i've a B2710.
TB work fine but i still have a problem.
Tracking stop when the phone go in stand-by mode (black screen).
If i want a complete tracking i must keep the phone "alive" by clicking every 30 seconds on keyboard.
Not very easy when you want to track a mountain bike ride
Very Happy
I don't know how to disable stand-by mode.
thanks

Christophe.

Excuse me for my english. Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
myllenyum



Joined: 29 Jun 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2012 1:31 pm    Post subject: Re: new findings about the b2710 Reply with quote

@akshaan

Please follow these steps an track will be recorded even in stand-by mode. Or... you can use 3 key to turn light always on.

Thank You martinezcb to your suggestion but unfortunately is not working for me... anyway I'll keep your suggestion in my mind.

mash wrote:
jose1711 wrote:
if you can hack it, yes...


some new findings about the b2710:

1) it's not so difficult to bypass the certificate problem.

set the pc-connetion to "samsung kies" and use TkFileExplorer to remove the entries:

Phone( P: )/AppEx/User/Java/Games/TrekBuddy/MANIFEST.MF
Phone( P: )/AppEx/User/Java/Games/TrekBuddy/appdb/settings.bin

(see also: http://www.samsung-eternity.com/samsung-eternity-tips-and-tricks/how-to-bypass-signing%28all-apps%29-and-unlock-gps-%28tk-file-explorer%29/?topicseen )


2) there is a way to let trekbuddy logging tracks in sleep mode.

use *#7092463*# to enter the internal settings and change
-> 4.Module Settings
-> 6.Java
-> 3.VM Settings
-> 3.MVM settings
-> 3.MVM user End Key Option
from "Pause Only" to: "Hide only"

now you can use the "switch off"-button any time to hide a running java application in the background without stopping it's activity. trekbuddy will continuous logging in this mode and the device can turn off the light and go to sleep.Cool

when trekbuddy is running as the main application in foreground, this powersave interruptions can interfere in very bad ways. logging and automatic repositioning on the map will stop and you have to restart the application.
therefore i would suggest, to make a new option in the configuration menu, to choose forced backlight (=button "3") as the default behavior while track logging on this devices.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guest



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 4887

PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2013 2:57 pm    Post subject: TB on a B2710 Reply with quote

Hi,
I am running TB 1.2.4 on my GT-B2710. Maps created with Mobac.

Set the "misc" options as suggested here (including the numeric input hack).

TB runs ok; there is a limitation, however, to the map size that can be handled. Atlases with a large number of tiles slow everything down to a crawl. Making the tiles larger than 512 x 512 leads to occasional Java errors when TB attempts to load new tiles (probably running out of memory).

So for the time being i am restricted to using somehow smaller atlases. Phone runs ok with atlases with up to 5000 tiles.

Testing goes on..

Cheers
Kai
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Pedragon



Joined: 04 Jan 2014
Posts: 7
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi everyone!

I'm 1000% beginner on this phone-gps-TB stuff so apologies for stupid or already asked questions!
I have a B2710 and obviously I'd like to use it for kind of navigation tool when I'm out on the field hiking or visiting another city.
I started to read all sorts of topics about this but as more I read as more confused I am...
So I'd like to ask your help in the following issues..
- Where to copy the TB jad/jar files from my PC..? I mean where on my micro SD card exactly..? Do I have to make manually some folders for TB and if yes where - in the root folder of the SD card?
I have MOBAC on my PC - but on the SD card where to save the maps created? I have to make another folder on my micro SD card for maps and if yes this should be made in TB's main folder or separatelly..?
- What the heck is GPX in MOBAC nad what's for..?

That's it for now, new questions will come soon - as soon as I start isntalling TB on my phone..)) I'm sure...
Anyway - thank you very-very much for your help and patience in advance!!

Best regards,

Robert, Hungary, Budapest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Ranger



Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 6030

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In this phone app can be installed using Kies (like other Java apps) or directly using phone internet browser with link
http://www.trekbuddy.net/dev/2013-12-19/trekbuddy.jar
(newest version available).
Yes, folders should be created by hand in this model (easy way).
First you should create folder TrekBuddy in card main directory, and next (inside it) needed subfolders, as described in point 3 of installation topic
http://www.trekbuddy.net/wiki/index.php?title=Installation
Created atlases/maps in Mobac should be copied to TrekBuddy/maps folder on sd card as main maps folder.
GPX is standard file format to exchange navigation data like waypoints, tracks or routes.
Pls don't post same questions in different places Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TrekBuddy Forum Index -> Devices All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 5 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group