Bílý vrch
icon TrekBuddy
www.trekbuddy.net
Outdoor companion.
  • internal / bluetooth / simulator GPS
  • offline raster maps
  • smart GPX / raw NMEA logs
  • waypoints and simple navigation
  • custom views
  • MIDP and Symbian phones
  • Blackberry
  • Android
Visit wiki to see all features, guides and howtos. Project tracker.

Partners:    (Polish/Polski)(Polski) Compass mapy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) Galileos mapy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) CartoMedia      (Czech/Èesky)(Èesky) Eaglesoft trasy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) ExpressMap     

 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
0.9.95
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TrekBuddy Forum Index -> Recycle Bin
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5663

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RoBra81 wrote:
Certificate verification is turned of and I also tried to uninstall TrekBuddyService but TB still asks for an internet connection...


There is no way TB can know whether you have the service installed or not, so it still attempts to connect to it. But you can refuse to give it the permission if you do not like it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RoBra81



Joined: 21 Feb 2010
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, I understand: the connection is between TB and the service. But when I allow it a network connection is established -> does TB cause network traffic and if yes, how much?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ranger



Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 6030

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Internet traffic should not be present, local only. Don't worry.
One more - could you be so kind and ask about "first installation" problem in About app section ? This question is not specific to 0995 only. Thanks a lot Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5663

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TB only attempts to open socket://127.0.0.1:20175 URL connection. Have no idea what internet traffic this could cause...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RoBra81



Joined: 21 Feb 2010
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ranger wrote:
One more - could you be so kind and ask about "first installation" problem in About app section ?


Which "first installation" problem do you mean?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ranger



Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 6030

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suppose you install TB first time Smile I'm wrong ?
Socket service is used in many TB versions for Symbian phones.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RoBra81



Joined: 21 Feb 2010
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ranger wrote:
I suppose you install TB first time Smile I'm wrong ?
Socket service is used in many TB versions for Symbian phones.


I already had earlier versions installed but it could be that I installed the earlier versions in the wrong symbian version by mistake so I firstly had the socket thing within this version - sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guest



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 4935

PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 6:56 pm    Post subject: reliable input Reply with quote

I have tried the reliable input option on my SE K550i + SE HGE-100 module. The maxavail attribute was about 453 and later after a restart it was 251. It seems to me that TB works as usual no matter whether reliable input is checked or not. The track line line doesn't seem to be smoother or contain more points.
Please could you tell some details what this option should improve?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
shen



Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 340
Location: DE

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

shen wrote:
kruch wrote:
@shen Glad to hear you had no problems upgrading, despite I even changed files suffix Cool . You are right, try 1,-1,-1.


No problems on my BB9000 OS5 with this settigs while geocaching for 4,5 hours, 17 km and 12 WPTs today.

Stefan


Hm, while caching yesterday I experienced something that I never had before, maybe this is related to the new update interval and maybe this was the reason for the 2 second setting:

On the compass screen the arrow for the direction to the selected WPT sometimes simply disappeared for a moment. Could it be that if TB asks each second for a new position and the BB cannot deliver new data then we have the described situation?

However, I will keep an eye on that

Stefan

_________________
BlackBerry Geocaching Tools (German)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
xvici



Joined: 29 Mar 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 12:02 pm    Post subject: Position buffering problem seems to persist Reply with quote

kruch wrote:

- fixed position "buffering" (and hopefully crashes when TB runs in background for some time); SE phones were affected by this bug


Hi Kruch,

I have tested the new version with my SE K550i + Evolve GTraxx Bluetooth GPS and the problem with position buffering persists.

After running a while with backlight off and waking up by any button, TrekBuddy starts processing buffered data - quickly moving map cursor, quickly running time etc till it reaches my current location and current time.

My GPS gives position 5 times per second. I tried to reduce it to 1 times but it didn't help. Just the time needed after wake up to reach current position is 5times shorter (obviously because of less buffered data).

I have found that this doesn't happen if MP3 player is on. I don't understand the phone/Java system background but probably the phone is periodically waken by the player and manages to process also the GPS data.

Is there any menu settings I could try?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Montador



Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

buahhhhhh

amazing simply amazing...

refresh and drawing times are amazing using a map in zoom 15 enough for me... the screen does not freezes anymore.

I'm usign nokia 5800.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5663

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shen wrote:
Could it be that if TB asks each second for a new position and the BB cannot deliver new data then we have the described situation?


TB is not asking, just listening.

I should check however how TB checks internal provider's position data validity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5663

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:10 pm    Post subject: Re: Position buffering problem seems to persist Reply with quote

xvici wrote:
and the problem with position buffering persists.


There is another minor tweak in 0.9.96 that could help. I'm gonna publish a test build during the weekend...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
billy06



Joined: 01 Oct 2008
Posts: 434
Location: Lowestoft U.K

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

has on screen keyboard option been removed from this version? as its not possible to select in suite settings!
_________________
Nexus 5X, Nexus 5, Nexus 7 3G, HTC Sensation, nokia 5800. web:www.thetrekbuddies.co.uk . Twitter:http://twitter.com/TheTrekbuddies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5663

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

billy06 wrote:
has on screen keyboard option been removed from this version? as its not possible to select in suite settings!


Attribute Nokia-MIDlet-On-Screen-Keypad has been added to the JAD file, that is probably why...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TrekBuddy Forum Index -> Recycle Bin All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 3 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group