Bílý vrch
icon TrekBuddy
www.trekbuddy.net
Outdoor companion.
  • internal / bluetooth / simulator GPS
  • offline raster maps
  • smart GPX / raw NMEA logs
  • waypoints and simple navigation
  • custom views
  • MIDP and Symbian phones
  • Blackberry
  • Android
Visit wiki to see all features, guides and howtos. Project tracker.
Trekbuddy is on Github now

Partners:    (Polish/Polski)(Polski) Compass mapy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) Galileos mapy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) CartoMedia      (Czech/Èesky)(Èesky) Eaglesoft trasy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) ExpressMap     

 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Issues on phones without menu button
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TrekBuddy Forum Index -> Bugs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
guest



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 5028

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2016 6:26 pm    Post subject: Issues on phones without menu button Reply with quote

When using TB on a device without a menu button (e.g. Samsung Galaxy S7) some features are not available. For instance you cannot select a track for navigation. When trying to do so, you get to the way point selection. But there's no way to bring up the menu to select "navigate forward", "navigate backward", ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ranger



Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 6030

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2016 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Long touch on last apps, when wpts are listed doesn't work ?
Or try long touch on Back key for Marshmallow, Samsung plays own game on touch keys Smile



S7_menu.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  9.24 KB
 Viewed:  12168 Time(s)

S7_menu.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guest



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 5028

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 4:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope. Already tried this. While it works with many other apps, it does not with TB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ranger



Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 6030

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What happens if you use ie long touch on back key in S7 ?
Docs for SM-G930_UM_EU shows such info:
"Tap and hold to access additional options for the current screen" Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guest



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 5028

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then TB closes (resp. goes to background) and I get back to home screen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ranger



Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 6030

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So probably you hold finger too short Smile
For some peoples it works:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/galaxy-s7/help/menu-button-t3332671
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guest



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 5028

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the hint. No, I don't hold my finger too short. And yes, I can use that feature with other apps. This actually is a TB issue, not a user problem. Kruch, can you comment on that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ranger



Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 6030

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hard to confirm it at all, cause there is no problem in many other smartphones/tablets, even without any keys.
App menu option is just visible and works, ie
http://www.trekbuddy.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8158&start=17
Probably problem can be TouchWiz specific, similar one was posted for Meizu M2 Note interface.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JNT



Joined: 10 Jan 2009
Posts: 415
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't get the floating on-screen menu button? On my S6 I do get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5673

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No idea now, sorry. I have to google if there is something an application must do to enable such behaviour.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guest



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 5028

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="JNT"]You don't get the floating on-screen menu button? On my S6 I do get it.[/quote]

I get the soft menu on the main screen. But that's not available on the navigation setup screen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
guest



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 5028

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="kruch"]No idea now, sorry. I have to google if there is something an application must do to enable such behaviour.[/quote]

What about just adding a menu button in the screen, not only relying on the hardware button?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JNT



Joined: 10 Jan 2009
Posts: 415
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

guest wrote:
I get the soft menu on the main screen. But that's not available on the navigation setup screen.


Strange, for me it is always there... (in Trekbuddy)


Last edited by JNT on Mon Apr 11, 2016 3:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ranger



Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 6030

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is added in system bar for many models (ie without keys), so can be confusing a bit Smile
As I remember app menu button game started on S3 TouchWiz and is just continued; keys are changing only Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5673

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to http://stackoverflow.com/questions/13322940/menu-button-on-newer-android-devices, system should really add soft menu button on its own, TB qualifies as legacy app. My understanding is that such soft menu key may have different appearence on different phones or Android versions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TrekBuddy Forum Index -> Bugs All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 1 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group