Bílý vrch
icon TrekBuddy
www.trekbuddy.net
Outdoor companion.
  • internal / bluetooth / simulator GPS
  • offline raster maps
  • smart GPX / raw NMEA logs
  • waypoints and simple navigation
  • custom views
  • MIDP and Symbian phones
  • Blackberry
  • Android
Visit wiki to see all features, guides and howtos. Project tracker.

Partners:    (Polish/Polski)(Polski) Compass mapy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) Galileos mapy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) CartoMedia      (Czech/Èesky)(Èesky) Eaglesoft trasy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) ExpressMap     

 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Trek buddy doesn't draws the track (ver.1.0.22 and higher)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TrekBuddy Forum Index -> Bugs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5664

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 7:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm afraid I have to tweak TB again ...

I changed targetSdkVersion attribute in manifest to 14 in order to avoid TB running in some compatiblity mode or whatever on android 4+.
But it has consequencies... first the problem with orientation change, now the menu button.

I'll see what can be done.

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/19746314/menu-button-doesnt-show-on-nexus-7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MEH



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 31
Location: Portland, OR USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perhaps Track Line issue is solved:
Trekbuddy and I went for a little walk today and again the track was not showing up. So, at the coffee shop I plunged into the settings to try to solve this.
In the Navigation section the track line is shown as red and nice and thick. Route line was OK too.
Checked the Location settings and everything looked OK. Backed out of that one and got a java error message. I have attached a screenshot, but no harm done. Very Happy
Next was the Desktop menu, and the "show trail" item was checked. But low and behold there at the bottom was the "Trail Line" setting. And, as you may have already guessed, the thickness setting was set to zero, all the way left. Thickened this one up a bit and now the track line is visible while navigating.
Sorry to have been such a nuisance. Embarassed

I decided it was time to review the Trekbuddy Wiki and find the difference between trail, track and route. But I found no reference for Track Line under Navigation. Just an FYI.

Thanks for a great product.



Screenshot_reduced.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  71.03 KB
 Viewed:  9152 Time(s)

Screenshot_reduced.png



_________________
Using a Google Nexus 5.
Android v4.4.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5664

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well for all lines (trail, track, route), actual drawing thickness is caluclated as 2*config_thickness+1, so the line should be at least 1px wide. But on high dpi screen, with some color, it may be hardly visible.

Any chance to get full stacktrace for ClassCastException from the device? Seems like it could another 4.4 "improvement" in Android...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MEH



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 31
Location: Portland, OR USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

humm.. "full stacktrace" ?

Can you give me a hint on how to obtain this?

I would be happy to do it.

_________________
Using a Google Nexus 5.
Android v4.4.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5664

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try application "aLogcat" (free version), it shows/clears/saves the log. But if you are active user, the part with TB exception may be rolled out, the log history is not so deep, look for "ClassCastException" text.
So next time, please Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MEH



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 31
Location: Portland, OR USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm in over my head.
I installed aLogcat and started it. Used the menu to clear it.
Fired up Trekbuddy and produced that same java error.
Went back to aLogcat but didn't see anything that looked like Trekbuddy info. Just a bunch of paused, freed, concurrent_gc blocked etc.
Went back to Trekbuddy, Settings - Location - and clicked on NMEA 0183 under "Tracklog Format".
This crashed Trekbuddy and gave me a chance to send a report to Google. So, I did. Hopefully they send it to you, the developer.
Went back to aLogcat, but still nothing Trekbuddy like seems to show up.

I'll keep tinkering with it.

_________________
Using a Google Nexus 5.
Android v4.4.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5664

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 6:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! I see the exception in google report.

EDIT: I will publish fixed build tonight. It was incorrect Android API use bug. Seems that we were just lucky it worked so far...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5664

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Published fixed 1.26 (version code 20140731).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MEH



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 31
Location: Portland, OR USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed your latest version today and everything appears to be working in the Location settings now. Yeah!

But..... yeh there always seems to be a but.
I was playing around in the Navigation section.
Selected to "Add GPS Waypoint".
Put in some text in the Name and Comment fields.
Tapped on Take Picture and, bam, "Unfortunately, Trekbuddy has stopped".
Tapped OK. Thought Trekbuddy had stopped but it really did not stop.
The bootprint reappeared in the upper left corner of my homescreen and showed tracking was still active.
I checked and no waypoint was saved.
Tried it all again and this time I sent in the Google Report.
Tried to get a aLogcat report but still nothing shows up for Trekbuddy.
Must be doing something wrong there. I'll try to figure it out.
Checked the Trekbuddy Technical Info:
pauses: 0; uncaught: 0; maxtasks: 2; merged: 0/0; events:0/0

Can I help?

_________________
Using a Google Nexus 5.
Android v4.4.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5664

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2014 4:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks.

I have not tested Take picture for years.. let me check it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
billy06



Joined: 01 Oct 2008
Posts: 434
Location: Lowestoft U.K

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2014 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@MEH for logcat in android 4.4.4 you need to be rooted! Wink , pictures has not worked for a long time on android version
_________________
Nexus 5X, Nexus 5, Nexus 7 3G, HTC Sensation, nokia 5800. web:www.thetrekbuddies.co.uk . Twitter:http://twitter.com/TheTrekbuddies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5664

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2014 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Picture is working fine for me on (quite old) Xperia with 4.0.4, and HTC G1 with 2.something.

Anyway, I'm going to make some changes in camera handling to increase robustness.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ranger



Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 6030

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2014 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On Android or WP it isn't hard to take pictures (with coords in exif) using build-in camera app.
Today rather is interesting, how to get thumbs & coords from such taken pictures as navigation points to app directly Smile
Option available ie for Here maps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MEH



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 31
Location: Portland, OR USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2014 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I may be a little off topic here, but just to chat a little about how I use Trekbuddy:
I also use a Garmin, but I find it harder to use than Trekbuddy, TB. The Garmin display is too small, the touchscreen is not sensitive enough, the Garmin camera is poor etc.
Sure, it is nice to have "all" the (expensive)maps inside the Garmin but I find that I can produce better custom maps procured from various sites and get great results with TB. My camera phone is much better than the Garmin too. And, you know, the best GPS to have is the one that's in your pocket.
After trekking with TB, I load my tracks into Basecamp, a Garmin Windows product. This works really nice for me since it can group all your routes, tracks, waypoints, pictures into folders and lists for display on the PC. Very nice tool to keep things organized.

Again, thanks for a very nice product, Kruch.

_________________
Using a Google Nexus 5.
Android v4.4.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MEH



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 31
Location: Portland, OR USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2014 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, I forgot.
I didn't find any mention of needing root access regarding aLogcat on the Google Play Store.
But if the Google crash report supplies enough info to troubleshoot software problems, why not just use it?

_________________
Using a Google Nexus 5.
Android v4.4.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TrekBuddy Forum Index -> Bugs All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group