Bílý vrch
icon TrekBuddy
www.trekbuddy.net
Outdoor companion.
  • internal / bluetooth / simulator GPS
  • offline raster maps
  • smart GPX / raw NMEA logs
  • waypoints and simple navigation
  • custom views
  • MIDP and Symbian phones
  • Blackberry
  • Android
Visit wiki to see all features, guides and howtos. Project tracker.
Trekbuddy is on Github now

Partners:    (Polish/Polski)(Polski) Compass mapy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) Galileos mapy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) CartoMedia      (Czech/Èesky)(Èesky) Eaglesoft trasy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) ExpressMap     

 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Trek buddy doesn't draws the track (ver.1.0.22 and higher)
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TrekBuddy Forum Index -> Bugs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dsz



Joined: 28 Oct 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:35 am    Post subject: Trek buddy doesn't draws the track (ver.1.0.22 and higher) Reply with quote

Trek buddy doesn't draws the track while navigation.
Application shows the track only when I press STOP button.
TB ver. 1.0.21 works correctly.

Phone: LG P970 Swift Black, Android 2.2.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mainframe



Joined: 02 May 2007
Posts: 16
Location: CZE

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also see this problem more or less every time I use TB. What TB does is that it displays straight line from some logged point to current location no matter how many points are in between. One time I only had initial point when I started logging and then always direct line to current location.

The difference from what dsz described is that in my case it synchronizes displayed track with logged points sometimes - not really predictable when, it could be couple minutes or hours but may not even happen at all.

I tried to cycle to compass and cms mode and back to map and it helped me at lease one time, also going into settings and changing track color helped me several times but not always.

I got an impression from some postings that TB does not show all logged points in displayed track, but tries to limit the number somehow. Maybe this algorithm has changed recently?

SE Ray, Android 2.3.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5674

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is right, but I'm not aware of any such change. But it could be side effect of other changes. I have to check 1.0.21-1.0.22 diff (I overlooked this in dsz's post).

I was not able to reproduce it yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gisela



Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 112
Location: Utrecht, Holland

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On my phone this also happens in case there is not enough memory (] think), and if I'm switching between screens. But if I wait long enough the right track is drawn.

Gisela
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5674

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have reworked synchronizations a bit, it may have some relation to this problem.

Also TB now uses native thick line drawing on Android which makes the trail a little nicer I think (except for more visible path segments now, but I guess I like it more than before Razz ), because trail line width is the same in all angles.

http://www.trekbuddy.net/dev/2012-04-17/trekbuddy.apk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dsz



Joined: 28 Oct 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have tested new version TB http://www.trekbuddy.net/dev/2012-04-17/trekbuddy.apk

Unfortunately TB ver.1.1.2dev still is not working properly: TrekBuddy doesn't draws the track line while navigation, only in the case after press the STOP button.
Changing the track line thickness and color does not work.
Avail memory: about 100M

LG P970 Swift Black, Android 2.2.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mainframe



Joined: 02 May 2007
Posts: 16
Location: CZE

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried the new version a little bit and this is how it works for me - if I walk any distance with tracking active but phone screen off, then stop, stand on place, unlock the phone then the track line is not updated even if I wait couple minutes. But if I am moving then the track line is plotted (usually after some time), probably once it reaches some distance.

So it seems that the track line drawing is driven by event that is only generated while moving. Maybe that is why the problem happens only on android, it probably has specific location logging thread (or service).

I am not sure if locations setting GPX ds and dt has any effect here, I have set up ds to 20m, dt to 120s.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richardsun



Joined: 27 Jul 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can also report similar problems to the others in this thread - display of the trail line seems unreliable. I have not yet been able to work out when the trail line does or doesn't appear - maybe worse when 'waking' my phone back into trekbuddy.

I no longer feel like I can rely on trekbuddy to display my location when needed Crying or Very sad it seems less effective than on my old S60 Nokia.

Phone: Sony Xperia Active; Android 4.0.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5674

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This a mystery to me... I'm doing some code cleanup, I hope it will make trail issue reproducible at least Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ranger



Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 6030

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Phone model & used app version ... ? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
[maxx]



Joined: 16 May 2013
Posts: 12
Location: italy - RE

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem here, Nokia 5228.
Sometimes (=quite often) TB does not draw track line, and does not center screen on actual position.
Using TB v. 1.2.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MEH



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 31
Location: Portland, OR USA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2014 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

v1.2.5
Seems to still have this problem of track line not showing.
Perhaps there is a work around?

_________________
Using a Google Nexus 5.
Android v4.4.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5674

PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2014 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll give it another try for 1.2.6.
But I was not able to reproduce when I tried last time Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5674

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was not able to reproduce this issue Sad

Are you using any CMS? Heavyweight CMS could cause event buffering... could you please next time it happens check Info->Technical->Debug maxtasks and events counters? Normally, it should print 0/0 for events and very small number for maxtasks. In a situation when trail is not drawn and/or position updated, the numbers should much greater than 0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MEH



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 31
Location: Portland, OR USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 6:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I'm using a CMS. But it is a fairly simple, single page, theme modified for the Samsung Galaxy Note 3 (Full HD). And I tweaked it to fit the Nexus 5 screen.

Today I updated to Trekbuddy v1.2.6 but have not been outside to take it for a spin yet. I did try to get to the debug screen, but could not. For some reason the "Technical" button that used to be at the bottom of the screen is not there on the Nexus 5. So, "Info" is as far as I can go. I have attached a screenshot.
Any suggestions?



Screenshot_2014-07-29-23-21-19.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  159.91 KB
 Viewed:  15346 Time(s)

Screenshot_2014-07-29-23-21-19.png



_________________
Using a Google Nexus 5.
Android v4.4.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TrekBuddy Forum Index -> Bugs All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group