Bílý vrch
icon TrekBuddy
www.trekbuddy.net
Outdoor companion.
  • internal / bluetooth / simulator GPS
  • offline raster maps
  • smart GPX / raw NMEA logs
  • waypoints and simple navigation
  • custom views
  • MIDP and Symbian phones
  • Blackberry
  • Android
Visit wiki to see all features, guides and howtos. Project tracker.

Partners:    (Polish/Polski)(Polski) Compass mapy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) Galileos mapy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) CartoMedia      (Czech/Èesky)(Èesky) Eaglesoft trasy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) ExpressMap     

 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
0.9.56 beta
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TrekBuddy Forum Index -> Recycle Bin
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
zz85



Joined: 20 Apr 2007
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2007 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some comments after using TB 0.9.56 intensively for a day on a trip.

1. Generally good Smile

2. About 3 occasions TB seemed to have hung (red status icon)- it couldn't connect even when the bluetooth receiver satellites signal light was on. Its just a guess that maybe TB wasnnt able to reconnect well if the GPS disconnected and then reconnect after some times.

3. Request: "Estimated Time to Reach" in CMS in additonal to ETA Wink (and "running time")

4. Changing maps loads the last position remembered for that map. Any option to "locked on" the same coordinates when switching maps? (without starting gps or altas)

5. I still get a invalid IWH for opening altas. Something wrong with the set files?

6. How do I use simulator mode? Nothing happened after opening the gpx files.

7. Does the CMS or is it the bluetooth which uses lots of electricity? My fully charged BL-5B battery on a nokia 5300 lasted less than 1/2 a day.[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
green



Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2007 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

poradtě mi prosím jak rozjet waypointy, diky. všechny složky tam mám, ale nic nejde. mám sxg75 diky za rady...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5662

PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2007 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

green wrote:
poradtě mi prosím jak rozjet waypointy, diky. všechny složky tam mám, ale nic nejde. mám sxg75 diky za rady...


ahoj, odpovedel jsem v "O programu" Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5662

PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2007 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@zz85

1) I agree Smile
2) I didn't test reconnection lately, but I had no problem with it in the past - I'll do some tests
3) {wpt-etr}? possible...
4) true, position is only remebered for startup map; would be nice, I agree
5) it is something with .map file - is it tar-ed atlas? could you send me the atlas "index" file? If it non-packed atlas, could you detect which map calibration file is causing "Invalid IWH"?
6) simulator support NMEA only
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mainframe



Joined: 02 May 2007
Posts: 16
Location: CZE

PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2007 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ad 2)

I have the same problem quite often also. TB stops updating position from GPS. I can scroll the map (if I remember right), switch to CMS, show the menu. When I select something from menu, nothing happens (I guess it might be queued in some request queue, but previous request to gps hangs, so it is not processed).

TB still displayes the last possition, but it is not related to fix loss, it happens even with many satellites in fix. The only thing that helps me is to completely disable bluetooth in phone setting (it is symbian, I can switch to bt settings), phone complains that bluetooth connection is active. Then TB immediatelly wakes up and responds to menu commands.

This may be also be related to some phones only, I have S60v3 phone, using TB 0.9.55. It looks like bluetooth connection problems, but I am not sure about that (I got it even when I had gps maximum two meters from phone, but they still can have connection problems).

_________________
BT-Q1000X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5662

PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2007 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ranger wrote:
Isn't enough to have prefixes like
- wmap (wpts quality depends on map scale)
- wgps (wpts recorded with provider quality)
- wsms (wpts received with quality unknown)
Similar names can be used for stores.
I vote to have all wpts files with prefixes, no difference between wpts and gpx logs files now, important if you send them via BT to other phone.
Typically received files via BT are saved in one folder and next should be moved so should be recognized by names.
If we will have simple routes gpx names - problem can increase.


Anyone else wants to comment on tracklog and wptlog filename prefixing? Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5662

PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2007 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ad 2)

@zz85: what is your device? I smell some S60 issue...

Anyone else is having the trouble with bt reconnecting?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guest



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 4883

PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2007 10:35 pm    Post subject: gps lost fix Reply with quote

I had the same issue today - after few hours (after 10000 points recorded in raw gpx mode) TB stoped (indicating no fix, despite fact that the gps was fixed). Had to restart TB...

Phone: k750i
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5662

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

orakel2056 wrote:
checked the new beta, got some problems with the maps and Nokia N70
(Nokia 6230i works fine):

_EVENT FAILURE_ (code 6;result 'null'; throwable
java.lang.OutOfMemeoryError): java.lang.NullPointerExeption: 0

I use the tar-ed maps. Generated with mapexplore, tb-cutter and a packprogramm to tar them.


OK, got a chance to test it on S60 3rd (for once Nokia had a good idea with their RDA). Funny error cause; a workaround already exists (but I'm after a better solution since the workaround cripples performance for tar-ed maps). Put the following property to JAD:

Code:
App-Flags: fs_no_reset


BTW, I assume you are only using tar-ed maps to use card space effectively?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yearling



Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 285

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 8:02 am    Post subject: Prace s waypointy Reply with quote

Zdar KRUCHu a ostatní.
Měl bych připomínku k práci s waypointy.
Jestliže zadám uživatelský waypoint (Enter Custom), uloží se tento bod pouze do souboru user-….gpx v adresáři wpts - to je OK.
Jestliže zadám waypoint s aktuální polohou (Record Current), uloží se tento bod do souboru null….gpx v adresáři wpts - to je taky OK až na ten název null Smile a současně se tento bod uloží i do příslušného tracklogu v adresáři track-gpx - to je v pořádku (pro import do OZI je to ideální trkpt+wpt v jednom souboru gpx), ale tento waypoint je označen nesprávným tagem trkpt namísto wpt !!! Navíc počínaje tímto waypointem se v každém následujícím trackpointu objevuje tag name i s posledním zadaným názvem – toto přestane (pravděpodobně) teprve při zadání příkazu PAUZA nebo STOP. (Všechny tři pokusné soubory posílám v příloze)
TB provozuji na Nokii 6233 (zapnuté forced GC + raw),
zkouším ho tuším někdy od verze 9.4 a je to paráda – díky moc.
Měl bych ještě pár připomínek k ovládání, které jsem napsal do námětů k vylepšení.



GPX.zip
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  GPX.zip
 Filesize:  87.38 KB
 Downloaded:  136 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5662

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 8:20 am    Post subject: Re: Prace s waypointy Reply with quote

yearling wrote:
příslušného tracklogu v adresáři track-gpx - to je v pořádku (pro import do OZI je to ideální trkpt+wpt v jednom souboru gpx), ale tento waypoint je označen nesprávným tagem trkpt namísto wpt !!!


OK. Ten bod trkpt se do tracklogu vklada, aby kdyz se prelozi "smart" tracklog & wptlog pres sebe, aby v miste waypointu trasy sedely. Po pravde receno me nenapadlo, ze bych mohl v tracklogu mixovat trkpt (myslim ze by se musel uzavrit trkseg) a wpt, ale mozna by to bylo lepsi! Ranger?
Budu si muset konecne zkusit nahrat gpx do Ozi-ho

Jinak forced-GC je na N6233 myslim zbytecny, ale asi to nijak vyznamne nezhorsuje plynulost, tyhle telefony uz jsou dost rychly i tak.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ranger



Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 6030

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'am not sure. Recorded waypoints are often used as destination points, track shows a trip, but isn't used to navigate (now). So I rather prefer to have destination points in different file(s) as probably most of users.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5662

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Waypoints will of course be still recorded in a separate wptlog file, but the question is whether to insert waypoint into tracklog as trkpt or wpt; it probably depends on which solution will be or look better when such tracklog is visualized in Ozi? GoogleEarth? ...

At present, a trkpt that corresponds to a wpt is inserted into tracklog in order to ensure that recorded waypoints are on the "track" (when visualized together, etc), since "smart" gpx tracklog might not record actual location when waypoint is recorded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yearling



Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 285

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No jestliže do gpx namixuju trkpt i wpt tak OZI mi to sbaštil bez problémů i ve stejném trkseg - zkusil jsem to tak, že jsem v gpx přepsal příslušný trkpt na wpt a prošlo to.
Jinak co se týká forced-GC, zatím ho mám zapnutý, v předchozí verzi (9.5), kde tato volba nebyla, mi občas, zejména při přejezdu do nové mapy a načítání nového mapového listu (ale jen někdy) vyběhla hláška java.outofmemory.error (nebo tak něco) a pomohlo jedině znovuspuštění TB. V 9.55 to pracuje naprosto spolehlivě - zkouším to na mapě ze 4 listů armádního atlasu (fantazie) - zatím mám jen 4 listy (na kartě cca 53MB), jak bude větší karta tak už mám celou ČR Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ranger



Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 6030

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

First, it make sense only, if such different elements can be displayed different way. Second, I'm not sure if some track analyzing tools can remove such wpts from track ... But if you say "as trkpt and wpt to log file" ... Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TrekBuddy Forum Index -> Recycle Bin All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 3 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group