Bílý vrch
icon TrekBuddy
www.trekbuddy.net
Outdoor companion.
  • internal / bluetooth / simulator GPS
  • offline raster maps
  • smart GPX / raw NMEA logs
  • waypoints and simple navigation
  • custom views
  • MIDP and Symbian phones
  • Blackberry
  • Android
Visit wiki to see all features, guides and howtos. Project tracker.

Partners:    (Polish/Polski)(Polski) Compass mapy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) Galileos mapy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) CartoMedia      (Czech/Èesky)(Èesky) Eaglesoft trasy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) ExpressMap     

 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
HOWTO Maps and Atlases
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TrekBuddy Forum Index -> English
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
guest



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 5014

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:18 pm    Post subject: Bug in atlases Reply with quote

When I use atlas in k750i, changing the map generates an error:

_RENDER FAILURE_java.lang.NullPointerExeption

The same error you can find with J2ME SDK WTK2 emulator.

Ranger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5665

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I cannot reproduce witk WTK 2.5 emulator with neither plain nor tar-packed atlas. Could you upload your atlas somewhere, eg. http://www.rapidshare.de? Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5665

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

But I can reproduce it with SE SDK WTK2 K750i emulator... Sad
Thanks for reporting the problem, I'll have a look at it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guest



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 5014

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is not necessary, I have this error with yours atlas too.
Load atlas, don't set it as default. Next load as first topo map (choose Okoli_Prahy), change to the road map and back again to topo.
I tried this many times, always with this error Sad

Ranger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
guest



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 5014

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 6:45 pm    Post subject: Tar loading problem Reply with quote

Hi!

Congratulations, great application. But I have a problem: when I try to load the tar of your tutorial example, I get this error "java.lang.OutOfMemoryError". I have no other apps running at the time.
If I use the map file+set directory method all is ok, but I get constant file acess warnings. The phone is a nokia 6630.

How can I solve this?

Thanks.
Filipe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5665

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:15 pm    Post subject: Re: Tar loading problem Reply with quote

guest wrote:
Congratulations, great application. But I have a problem: when I try to load the tar of your tutorial example, I get this error "java.lang.OutOfMemoryError". I have no other apps running at the time.... If I use the map file+set directory method all is ok, but I get constant file acess warnings. The phone is a nokia 6630.


Hi! Finally some S60 device... Smile

The tar - is it the single map P47s.tar? And, how much memory TB reports your phone has - can you have a look at Options->Info->Memory?

Thanks! k.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guest



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 5014

PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!

Yes it is the single map p47s.tar.

Regarding the memory, TB reports the following:

Memory 640000/218192

Thanks for the quick reply.
Filipe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5665

PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shocked
From Nokia specification for 6630:

Memory:
Unlimited Heap size
Shared Memory for Storage: 10 MB
Unlimited Jar size
...

How come TB reports so little memory...? Is TB the only program running?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guest



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 5014

PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 12:25 pm    Post subject: ... Reply with quote

Hi.

I don't how to answer why. What I can tell you is that no, I don't have any other program running.

If you are familiar with s60 software, when I run AppMan it reports: free memory: 7.43 Mb, running apps: 7, total 1.37 Mb.

Maybe some apps running on the background, but still, I have 7,43 mb left, which should be enough.

Anybody with the same problem? And if nothing can be done to resolve that, how to sign the midlets so I don't have to give permission everytime a segment of the map need to be loaded?

Thanks.
Filipe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5665

PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's weird... I'll google more on this later. In Nokia docs I can read that heap size is dynamic and that it is shared with other applications, so I kind of hope for other application running and eating the heap memory. But the number - 640000 - for total memory looks a bit suspicious, like some kind of constraint setting... but I have no experience with S60 at all.

With S60, you are able to import a certificate into trustore, right? I couldn't get a code-signing certificate neither from Thawte nor Verisign, but I could sign the midlet with self-signed certificate that you would import into the trustore.

However, memory consumption for packed and unpacked maps is similar - there no extra penalty for tar-ed maps that I know of...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guest



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 5014

PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 1:20 pm    Post subject: Re: ... Reply with quote

guest wrote:
Hi.

... I don't have to give permission everytime a segment of the map need to be loaded?

Thanks.
Filipe


There is a way to have large, single map working in TB without everytime giving permission - replace default world map with yours.
It is described on forum, but:
- unzip TB app
- change the name of your calibration file to world.map
- change the name of your set file to world.set
- replace this two files in /resouces subdirectory of unpacked TB
- copy yours tiles to /set subdirectory and delete default world_0_0.png
- zip TB and change file extension to .jar

Voila,

Ranger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
guest



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 5014

PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 4:14 pm    Post subject: ... Reply with quote

Hi there!

Thanks for the tip Ranger. Already thought of that, and indeed it works, but doesn't meet my purposes completely. I use many maps, and this is not a practical way of changing maps: having to close TB, stoping tracklog, overwriting the jar file, initiating TB again...
Doing that on a bike, for example, is not that practical Smile

That's why the tar file is a very good solution. Only one file, loaded though menus, without exiting TB.

Eitherway, this is a excelent software Kruch. One sugestion: replacing the compass with an arrow pointing direction. Again, on a bike, is very difficult to understand which way you're going without having to watch the screen for a couple of seconds, and that maybe a very bad choice for your health Smile

Another thing, don't know if it helps: I uninstalled TB, and reinstalled, and now it states 800000/312380 for the memory.

Thanks guys.
Filipe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5665

PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!

In my task list, I also have an option to select one quantity that is available, to be shown decently, and accordingly (arrow, number, ...) almost over the whole application screen for easier viewing, be it speed, direction etc. I find the crosshair and arrow too small too...

Tar-ed maps indeed works pretty well on Nokia phones (at least 6230i), but it was rather disappointing that this solution did not work for SE due strict security (ok, according to the spec) and primitive FileConnection API implementation (and that is a shame).

The memory issue on 6630 is really annoying - TB with 4 map slices PNG 8-bit shown at once, reports:
- on 6230i (fw 3.40) 2097152/1418516
- on K750i (fw R1AA008) 1048572/882268

Later, k.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RageRiot



Joined: 25 Nov 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry but the map that ed posted on the first page isnt usful to me. it doens show the road names and it will require hours of saving imaes for eash section (or is there an easier way to do it? ) and on each image it has a blue scale bar on it..

is there no where at all that offerers a FULL map of Manchester city centre at street name level that isnt per section. I just want one giant image..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
temptrekbuddy



Joined: 27 Nov 2006
Posts: 193
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi guys, did anyone experiment with the following?
edit: ok I alredy found the answer myself by testing. it worked Smile

1) Can the .set files be also on the tarred listing made as a result of?
Quote:
tar -cf cr.tar --exclude=*.png cr.tba hikingmap roadmap


2) Can the .set files be included when making tar maps for the atlas? or any tar maps?

Or is it necessary to exlude the .set file by for example:
Quote:
tar -cf cr.tar --exclude=*.png --exclude=*.map cr.tba hikingmap roadmap
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TrekBuddy Forum Index -> English All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 2 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group