Bílý vrch
icon TrekBuddy
www.trekbuddy.net
Outdoor companion.
  • internal / bluetooth / simulator GPS
  • offline raster maps
  • smart GPX / raw NMEA logs
  • waypoints and simple navigation
  • custom views
  • MIDP and Symbian phones
  • Blackberry
  • Android
Visit wiki to see all features, guides and howtos. Project tracker.

Partners:    (Polish/Polski)(Polski) Compass mapy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) Galileos mapy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) CartoMedia      (Czech/Èesky)(Èesky) Eaglesoft trasy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) ExpressMap     

 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
0.9.4
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TrekBuddy Forum Index -> Recycle Bin
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5663

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 10:38 pm    Post subject: 0.9.4 Reply with quote

Changelog

    - map caching
    - fixed: waypoint marker position shift
    - fixed: snapshot taking
    - 'worm head'


Map caching (Options->Settings->Tweaks->cache offline maps)

When enabled, every loaded (ie. displayed) tile is cached in phone's internal memory. If it is in cache, it is loaded from there. Advantages over loading from memory card? It appears that loading is faster, and, no access confirmation prompts for each tile for phones that suffer from this issue. OK, at the beginning, you have to go through confirmations, but as the cache gets populated, you confirm less and less.

I thought of caching the whole map from the very beginning at first, but this approach (only-cache-what-you-really-need) saves the internal memory (I've seen and heard of maps of tens of megabytes size), and is more 'compatible' with online maps support (which will eventually appear in TrekBuddy).

Notes:
    - only tiles are cached, not calibration files, so you still will have to confirm access to calibration files
    - caching works for both tar- and non-packed atlases/maps, but using tar-packed atlases is better (remember, calibration files are not cached)
    - each map has own cache, identified by map name (map name is calibration file name without extension)
    - simple cache management via Options->Info - you may delete cache(s) if you'll run out of memory


Please consider this caching rather proof-of-concept implementation. Cool I've tested it shortly on 6230i and S65, help me test it on other devices if you like. Wink

Caching may help using non-packed map easier on S60, where OutOfMemory exception occurs when loading tar-packed maps.


Tweaks (Options->Settings->Tweaks)

You may get some performance gain for tile loading by enabling optimistic I/O. It is off by default since it does not work on Siemens phones.

S60 renderer may (not) make map scrolling smoother. I thought it might help on S60, therefore the name.


0.9.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doc2005



Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 21
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

great...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ave



Joined: 02 Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 12:02 am    Post subject: 0.9.4 Reply with quote

Hi.

What exactly is "fixed: waypoint marker position shift "?

Another thing, I have SE k800i phone and I made a tar map but it asks many confirmations (allow access to filesystem) while running the app, why is that? Until cache kicks in, I get multiple confirm dialogs per session.

One file, one java session, one access priviledge is enough, right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave.a



Joined: 19 Oct 2006
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 8:36 am    Post subject: waypoints Reply with quote

I v této verzi mám problém s přesností zobrazení waypintů a vlastně i kříže, při online navigaci. Jediný způsob, jak zjistit přesnou polohu, je uložit současnou polohu do waypointu a pak dát k němu navigovat.


DispCapture.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  9.42 KB
 Viewed:  38336 Time(s)

DispCapture.png


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5663

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 7:03 pm    Post subject: Re: 0.9.4 Reply with quote

ave wrote:
What exactly is "fixed: waypoint marker position shift "?


Waypoint position on map was affected by map scrolling.

ave wrote:
Another thing, I have SE k800i phone and I made a tar map but it asks many confirmations (allow access to filesystem) while running the app, why is that? Until cache kicks in, I get multiple confirm dialogs per session.


You should not see confirmation prompts for tiles already cached, not in current neither in future sessions - are you saying it does not work like this? I admit I did not test it on K750i yet, will do tonight.

ave wrote:
One file, one java session, one access priviledge is enough, right?


If only! This is how it works eg. on Nokia devices. Not on SE, their security implementation is very strict. Sad


Last edited by kruch on Sun Dec 10, 2006 7:21 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5663

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 7:16 pm    Post subject: Re: waypoints Reply with quote

Dave.a wrote:
I v této verzi mám problém s přesností zobrazení waypintů a vlastně i kříže, při online navigaci. Jediný způsob, jak zjistit přesnou polohu, je uložit současnou polohu do waypointu a pak dát k němu navigovat.


Muzes mi prosimte podrobne popsat jak takova situace vznikne? Tohle se mi jeste nepodarilo udelat. Dik!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave.a



Joined: 19 Oct 2006
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 8:50 pm    Post subject: Re: waypoints Reply with quote

kruch wrote:

Muzes mi prosimte podrobne popsat jak takova situace vznikne? Tohle se mi jeste nepodarilo udelat. Dik!


Pokud jde o špatné zobrazení na mapě online, tak jsem na to přišel asi takto: Sledoval jsem svou aktuální pozici na mapě a začal jsem se dost vzdalovat realitě - kříž byl na mapě o několik ulic jinde, než ve skutečnosti. Dal jsem tedy record current pro uložení současné pozice do waypointu. Tento waypoint jsem následně nahrál a dal k němu navigovat. Waypoint byl zobrazen v místě, kde byl umístěn kříž. Pokud jsem ale dal navigovat k waypointu, tak mě šipka navedla na správné místo, s přesností pár metrů. Když jsem se 5kou vrátil zpět na zobrazování aktuální pozice, tak kříž skočil zpět na chybnou pozici - k zobrazenému waypointu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guest



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 4934

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 11:46 am    Post subject: Re: waypoints Reply with quote

Dave.a wrote:
I v této verzi mám problém s přesností zobrazení waypintů a vlastně i kříže, při online navigaci.


Do you switched map datums in this case ?

I have no problem to reproduce in 094 the same errors as it was in 092 for case of switching datums.
Scenario:
- see in topic version 092

When map datum is changed to another, TB recalculates new wpt position correctly,
but didn't updates wpt marker position until new map is loaded. To see that wpt is set to new position a small crosshair movement is necessary. After this you can observe, that wpt and wpt marker positions are different. Next you should try to reload map to new one (if you are checking on the same map, now is the time to choose any different map and reload previous). You will see, that wpt and marker positions are the same.

Comment to pictures (from left side):
Pict 1. Good wpt & marker positions (datum 1)
Pict 2. Datum changed to datum 2. Wpt & marker positions are different
Pict 3. Map reloaded, positions are good for datum 2
Pict 4. Datum changed back to datum 1. Wrong marker position again.

But your case Dave.a can be something another.

Ranger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ave



Joined: 02 Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 6:44 pm    Post subject: Re: 0.9.4 Reply with quote

ave wrote:
Another thing, I have SE k800i phone and I made a tar map but it asks many confirmations (allow access to filesystem) while running the app, why is that? Until cache kicks in, I get multiple confirm dialogs per session.


kruch wrote:
You should not see confirmation prompts for tiles already cached, not in current neither in future sessions - are you saying it does not work like this? I admit I did not test it on K750i yet, will do tonight.


Yes sorry, I was a bit confused about the mechanics of SE java security prompts, without signed app you ALWAYS get confirm dialog with filesystem access, it works perfect with cache!

Great to hear that 0.9.5 is having(?) a thawte cert, ends this madness...

One suggestion tho, when app is closed, it would be nice to have it so that current cursor OR gps location is saved to recordstore and next time you run TB it'd "resume" the old map and old position, no need to scroll so much on large maps for example.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kruch
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 5663

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 6:55 pm    Post subject: Re: 0.9.4 Reply with quote

ave wrote:
Yes sorry, I was a bit confused about the mechanics of SE java security prompts, without signed app you ALWAYS get confirm dialog with filesystem access, it works perfect with cache!


I've been hoping to hear this! Smile

ave wrote:
Great to hear that 0.9.5 is having(?) a thawte cert, ends this madness...


I keep my fingers crossed...

ave wrote:
One suggestion tho, when app is closed, it would be nice to have it so that current cursor OR gps location is saved ...


I got this in my TODO list.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ave



Joined: 02 Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 10:41 pm    Post subject: Re: 0.9.4 Reply with quote

kruch wrote:

<snip>
I got this in my TODO list.


Since we're at it, I got few feature requests regarding geocache use:
- ability to list waypoints based on distance from current location (find nearest cache)
- support utf8 encoding in waypoint data (gpx)
- show more metainformation from waypoint when using gpx format, (container-type, hints)
- persistent waypoints across sessions (suggested via recordstore, at minimum you could store the filename that was used last time)
- include a small compass arrow/heading/bearing in the HPS screen
- open sourcing the app

And something else that I forgot, but heres for starters! Razz

Thank you very much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
supik



Joined: 05 Nov 2006
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

beside other goals, the caching is a huge improvement for me! Cool k800i

my only problem now seems to be that the sea level height indication jumps letś say from 126,2 to 126,158... is there any possibility to switch to a number without tenths or hundredths?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave.a



Joined: 19 Oct 2006
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:47 am    Post subject: Re: waypoints Reply with quote

guest wrote:

Do you switched map datums in this case ?


I tried switch map datum but without success. Waypoints are positioned incorrectly. If I use my old low-resolution map with same map datum, it works correctly. And if I use OziExplorer to show viewpoint I get correct position. Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ranger



Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 6030

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 4:31 pm    Post subject: Re: waypoints Reply with quote

Dave.a wrote:

Waypoints are positioned incorrectly.

Interesting ...
In cases I found there is a problem with wpt marker position, not wpt itself.
Did you found the way to reproduce this case ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hegi



Joined: 19 Oct 2006
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:01 pm    Post subject: SXG75 special issues ... no change in 0.9.4 Reply with quote

Hi kruch,

first: The mapless close view "9" is really great. - It took to get used to the fact that north ist "top" and not "walking direction" (which would be a nice feature though) ... But it's really fab for geocaching !!!!

Besides, it seems that there is no change regarding the issues I posted for 0.9.3 / SXG 75:

hegi wrote:
1. I cannot load any waypoints (worked up to 0.9.2). Here's the error:
Code:
Failed to parse waypoints org.xmlpull.v1.XmlPullParserException:
Invalid stream or encoding: java.lang.NullPointerException  (position:START_DOCUMENT null@0:0) caused by:
java.lang.NullPointerException

The same waypoint-files (.loc) still work with other apps, so the issse seems to be weith trekbuddy.
2. The font (though not using bold/large features) is to wide on the screen to see the coordinates (I still get e.g. "N00˚16.928 W112˚57." which is not exactly helpful).


If there is any way I can support the development / testing please let me know. I'm also happy to test on SXG75.

... does it make any sense to try the X65 Version instead (since this is Siemens, too)?

Thanks

hegi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TrekBuddy Forum Index -> Recycle Bin All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group