Bílý vrch
icon TrekBuddy
www.trekbuddy.net
Outdoor companion.
  • internal / bluetooth / simulator GPS
  • offline raster maps
  • smart GPX / raw NMEA logs
  • waypoints and simple navigation
  • custom views
  • MIDP and Symbian phones
  • Blackberry
  • Android
Visit wiki to see all features, guides and howtos. Project tracker.

Partners:    (Polish/Polski)(Polski) Compass mapy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) Galileos mapy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) CartoMedia      (Czech/Èesky)(Èesky) Eaglesoft trasy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) ExpressMap     

 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
layer added for no-map.xml

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TrekBuddy Forum Index -> WishList
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
boowoo



Joined: 12 Jun 2013
Posts: 537
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 9:32 pm    Post subject: layer added for no-map.xml Reply with quote

Hello,
Sometimes, when TB is running with no-map.xml, i would like to have possibility to select an added layer -> (7) 1px : 1m
Very useful for me when working on small forest areas ...
Is it possible to implement this feature ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boowoo



Joined: 12 Jun 2013
Posts: 537
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Dec 17, 2013 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

More explanations,
when TB running on no-map.xml , ( setting (6) 1px : 5m ), sometimes the tracks that i need to be displayed are too small and using zoom is not enough !..
Add a new layer (7) 1px : 1m could be a solution for me ... not possible, or not interesting ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boowoo



Joined: 12 Jun 2013
Posts: 537
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2016 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Small explanation with screenshots ...
This is the same area displayed on :
- normal map (zoom 17 mobac)
- no-map (6: 1px=5m) -> unusable because too small for me for some works.
Solution should be adding new layer for no-map : 7 (1px=1m) Smile



Screenshot_2016-02-26-22-44-40.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  15.51 KB
 Viewed:  5909 Time(s)

Screenshot_2016-02-26-22-44-40.png



Screenshot_2016-02-26-22-44-04.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  106.99 KB
 Viewed:  5909 Time(s)

Screenshot_2016-02-26-22-44-04.png


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ranger



Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 6027

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2016 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you sure ?
There is no problem to get 1m/px resolution for no map mode now ...
Just try to set map scaling as max (270%) and use x2 factor.
There is no reason to have 25 cm per pixel resolution in such case Wink



No_map_mode_precision_1px.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  28.54 KB
 Viewed:  5900 Time(s)

No_map_mode_precision_1px.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boowoo



Joined: 12 Jun 2013
Posts: 537
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes Ranger, it's OK, but i thought it was useful and more simple to get a new layer ...
(more zoom possibilities, switch easier and more quickly between map and no-map when using both)
Tap % numbers on keyboard is not really easy outdoor !
Of course, interresting if not difficult to implement ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ranger



Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 6027

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Useful for what ? Smile TB is just simple in phone GNSS navigation app, rather not geodetic tool Smile
So mapless mode is optimized for typical app usage.
Below there is a sample of GNSS consumer electronic precision, measured in TB on Samsung S5 by city runner.
In detail - first pict shows raw GNSS receiver data in mapless mode (in 1m/px precision), second track filtered by app, third how track looks on typical tourist map.
To be clear - guy wasn't drunk Wink
It means - if typical kind of devices are used, better mapless mode precision just can show quality of consumer GNSS only.
App can be used to show ie geodetic maps content, but just can't make consumer electronic better Smile



Track_precision_1-NMEA-recorded_2-TB-filtered_3-visible-on-map-50k.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  58.54 KB
 Viewed:  5870 Time(s)

Track_precision_1-NMEA-recorded_2-TB-filtered_3-visible-on-map-50k.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boowoo



Joined: 12 Jun 2013
Posts: 537
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Ranger for details explanations ...
For me, there's always also a small problem for switching quickly map/no-map because i need restart phone each time when changing new zoom value % ...
The Holy Grail does not exist ... Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ranger



Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 6027

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You mean B2710 or Xcover ? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boowoo



Joined: 12 Jun 2013
Posts: 537
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, need restart TB, not the phone Embarassed Tape too quickly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ranger



Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 6027

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rather unusual Smile
Just try scenario - go to Settings, Desktop, change map scalling, go back one time and use last app button to close settings menu.
If you next load no-map.xml, scale in app should be changed, but for current run only, etc.
Mapless mode is rather used in case where map isn't available or not needed at all, just as xml filename says Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boowoo



Joined: 12 Jun 2013
Posts: 537
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Ranger, this scenario work fine Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guest



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 4828

PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd also upvote idea to add another layer there. Arguments same - it is just easier to use up/down rather than customize map settings.

Quote:
So mapless mode is optimized for typical app usage.

It seems most of my maps have already greater resolution than highest resolution no-map. So for me (and - author of this thread) it would be natural just to switch to no-map and select comparable zoom level - what is not possible without tweaking settings.

marcin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TrekBuddy Forum Index -> WishList All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group