Bílý vrch
icon TrekBuddy
www.trekbuddy.net
Outdoor companion.
  • internal / bluetooth / simulator GPS
  • offline raster maps
  • smart GPX / raw NMEA logs
  • waypoints and simple navigation
  • custom views
  • MIDP and Symbian phones
  • Blackberry
  • Android
Visit wiki to see all features, guides and howtos. Project tracker.

Partners:    (Polish/Polski)(Polski) Compass mapy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) Galileos mapy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) CartoMedia      (Czech/Èesky)(Èesky) Eaglesoft trasy      (Polish/Polski)(Polski) ExpressMap     

 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Mobile Atlas Creator 1.9 latest release
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 26, 27, 28 ... 49, 50, 51  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TrekBuddy Forum Index -> Tools
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cragganmore



Joined: 23 Nov 2008
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2010 5:14 pm    Post subject: Re: Problem on android device Reply with quote

guest wrote:
Can you give me a clue, why this is happening? Where to search for a mistake?
1. Wrong positioning in program MOBAC during creation of maps?
2. Mistake in programs on phone (but then why in all programs the situation is the same)?


None of all that.

AFAIK the Chinese Government forced the map suppliers to insert a position offset in all digital maps available on the Chinese market, please see post #20 in http://forums.groundspeak.com/GC/index.php?showtopic=201512&st=0&p=3600655&#

Currently the only unaltered map source for China seems to be OpenStreetMap.

_________________
best regards
cragganmore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guest



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 5015

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2010 8:14 pm    Post subject: Thank you for your answer. Reply with quote

Thank you very much. Now I can understand why all programs "lie" to me.
Are there any official data about this offset? From google, for instance?

So if I understood correctly the proble is the following:
1. Google include offset
2. I download google maps with an ofset so that my program positioning me wrong.
3. Google maps program in nexus one phone has correction for this offset because they know it.
4. So everyone is happy. Google happy to be in China, China happy to sell gps navigators.

A, I wright?

If you have some sort of further information about this matter, please let me know.
Yous sincerely.


P.S. sorry for poor english.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
guest



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 5015

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 3:40 am    Post subject: Calibration error in MOBAC? Reply with quote

Spent the past few hours searching for a answer to this but no luck. The problem is easy to reproduce and happens everytime but quite hard to put into words... i'll try.

Basically there is a discrepancy on map calibration depending on how large the map you download is? So I add two maps into my phone, both ripped with MOBAC 1.7 and Google maps as source. First layer is the whole world at zoom level 8 and the second is just the UK at zoom level 8 - so scrolling about within the UK area both are identical.

The problem comes when I compare locations between the two identical maps - if I choose UK only layer and scroll the crosshair to a point then switch to the World layer the map re-centres and crosshair is now nearly a centimetre below the town. It's not a lot screen-wise but at this zoom level a centimetre is several miles! Same when activating the GPS, UK only map position is correct, World map position is several miles due south.

I've tried everything to solve this but am right out of ideas now. Surely if you rip a map of the same zoom level from same source MOBAC is supposed to adjust the calibration to compensate for the area covered but keep lat/lon of points on the map equal? Any advice greatly appreciated as I just cannot see what is happening here.

Cheers
Matt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
guest



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 5015

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi~~~would it be possible to add map.yahoo.co.jp (which is different from map.yahoo.com) to mobile atlas creator ?

map.yahoo.co.jp gives great details about places in japan. It is even more detailed than google map.

thx anyway :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Derwisch



Joined: 01 Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Location: Landau / Germany

PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2010 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, I'm more or less a beginner with this great tool.
The first Atlases worked fine, but I can not get the 'OpenStreetMap Hiking with Relief' MAP source to work completely.
The tracks and labels are visible, but the background is black. Not sure if it is a bug or I still miss something.
When I mean plack I'm looking at the png file directly, not on the mobile.

Any help would be appreciated.



t_0_256.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  14.9 KB
 Viewed:  12286 Time(s)

t_0_256.png


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shen



Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 340
Location: DE

PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2010 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Derwisch wrote:
Hello, I'm more or less a beginner with this great tool.
The first Atlases worked fine, but I can not get the 'OpenStreetMap Hiking with Relief' MAP source to work completely.
The tracks and labels are visible, but the background is black. Not sure if it is a bug or I still miss something.
When I mean plack I'm looking at the png file directly, not on the mobile.

Any help would be appreciated.


I can confirm this, ran into the same problem these days ...

Stefan

_________________
BlackBerry Geocaching Tools (German)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mobrob



Joined: 04 Apr 2008
Posts: 372
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 6:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I fixed the problem with OSM Hiking map in 1.8 alpha 6.
It was caused by a small alpha transparency problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Derwisch



Joined: 01 Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Location: Landau / Germany

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mobrob wrote:
I fixed the problem with OSM Hiking map in 1.8 alpha 6.
It was caused by a small alpha transparency problem.


Many thanks for the quick reaction. I used the 1.8 alpha 6 and indeed the result is different, but it seems still a layer (background) is missing. So now the contour curves are visible, but the background is transparent when using gimp as a viewer. The phone has even more problems.

--addition: I uploaded one tile, but on the web page it looks OK
If you download the graphics and open in some viewer
you will see the transparency.



t_256_0.png
 Description:
Created with 1.8 alpha 6 on SUSE Linux
 Filesize:  79.24 KB
 Viewed:  12100 Time(s)

t_256_0.png


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mobrob



Joined: 04 Apr 2008
Posts: 372
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

v1.8 alpha 7 correctly handles the background initialization.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Derwisch



Joined: 01 Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Location: Landau / Germany

PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mobrob wrote:
v1.8 alpha 7 correctly handles the background initialization.


Thanks a lot its working fine - again thanks for the quick fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guest



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 5015

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello. Is there any way, how to view any output from Atlas Creator on the . / iPod Touch? I'm searching for such tool for 3 days now and nothing.

. does not seem to have an application for viewing images larger than 5000x5000, everything just crashes.
Thanks a lot!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pidgey



Joined: 02 Oct 2009
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

guest wrote:
Hello. Is there any way, how to view any output from Atlas Creator on the . / iPod Touch? I'm searching for such tool for 3 days now and nothing.

. does not seem to have an application for viewing images larger than 5000x5000, everything just crashes.
Thanks a lot!


Oh man i would LOVE that aswell, . has some good map applications for ONLINE maps but pretty much nothing for offline (which i really need, as i often go abroad and i cant use internet for maps due to huge roaming costs), the only one that works good with offline maps is xGPS (which only works with jailbroken iphones), i tested it and it's got its own xgps manager to download google maps and terrain, but nothing else (no satellite, no hybrid).

Do you know any other apps for . for offline maps?

This software had something to convert google maps for . use but i think it doesnt work anymore with the newer version of . firmware and new xGPS version: http://code.google.com/p/gmdl/ - but this is not even close to Mobile Atlas Creator.

Anyway, if mobrob wants to mess with it, i can help out with my jailbroken ., i can extract the maps from the . xgps directory or from MotionX GPS, another . payed appz that let you use offline maps from OpenstreetMap (directly from the .) and see if we can somewhat find a way to create an output from Mobile Atlas Creator compatible with any of these . appz, that would be awesome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cragganmore



Joined: 23 Nov 2008
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pidgey wrote:
Do you know any other apps for . for offline maps?


The only one i know so far is http://www.twonav.com/?op=2_0&lang=0en&prod=712

You have to deal with their native formats, afaik the conversions can be done with a registered free version of CompeGPS which can import and convert OZI map files.

_________________
best regards
cragganmore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mobrob



Joined: 04 Apr 2008
Posts: 372
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi pidgey and cragganmore,

from my point of view there should be no problem adding a . compatible atlas format. The more information you can provide the easier implementation will be.

I would suggest opening a feature request at Sourceforge or at least a separate thread here in the tools forum.
If you have agreed on the . app to support I only need information of the atlas format and some small example atlases.

mobrob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
womisa



Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi i am a new member,

many thanks for your great tool and job mobrob!

I have a request to a new output format (ublox) in a future release. Is this acceptable and possible for you?

The format descripten from the ublox manual (see at http://www.u-blox.com/images/downloads/Product_Docs/u-Center_User_Guide%28GPS-SW-08007%29.pdf) is:

Chapter 4.5.11.3

Example File: Extension *.mcf)
....
; I N F O
; ------------------------------------------------------------
; File: world.mcf
; Source: (sample data set)


; R E F E R E N C E
; ------------------------------------------------------------
; 3 Points must be defined to calibrate a Map
; Parameters:
; # = index of the point (1 to 3)
; x,y = image coordinates
; lat,lon = world coordinates
; Syntax:
; # = <x>, <y>, <lon>, <lat>

[REFERENCE]
1 = 0, 0, -180.0, 90.0
2 = 1764, 1045, 180.0, -90.0
3 = 1764, 0, 180.0, 90.0


; M A R K E R
; ------------------------------------------------------------
; You can add points (image or world coord) to the map
; Parameters:
; num = number of markers that follow
; # = index of the point (1 to num)
; type = c for world or i image coordinates
; x,y = image coordinates
; lat,lon = world coordinates
; text = quoted text decription to the marker (optional)
; Syntax:
; Count = <num>
; # = <type>, <x|lon>, <y|lat>[, <text>]

[MARKER]
Count = 1
1 = c, 8.56525, 47.28519444, "u-blox ag"

....

Many greetings
Achim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TrekBuddy Forum Index -> Tools All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 26, 27, 28 ... 49, 50, 51  Next
Page 27 of 51

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group